PDA

View Full Version : Hand held vs. Strap type release

caseys101
06-17-2008, 02:05 PM
Could anyone chime in on the pros and cons of hand held releases?I am tempted to try one but they don't seem to be used all that often for hunting. I haven't been around many target shooters to know what they use. Are they more accurate? I wondering about the back of the hand toward the face shooting style.
Thanks

caseys101
06-17-2008, 02:18 PM
I was also wondering if the release type has any effect on your draw length.

mlk3454
06-17-2008, 04:53 PM
I use a Chappy Boss as my primary release for target and hunting. I have been using it for the last 3 years and did notice better accuracy when I moved to it from my Winn Free Flight C-10. I use a Carter Quickie for my back-up when I hunt as it is small and I can throw it in my pocket and not know it is there. Between the two types of releases i personally shoot better with the Chappy Boss than I do with the strap styles.

My $.02

TEXAS 10PT
06-17-2008, 05:10 PM
I switched from a Scott Mongoose to a Carter Chocolate Addiction 3 years ago because of target panic and punching the trigger on the Scott. I have found that I shoot much better with the Carter that has a thumb barrel trigger mechanism. This is all I use for hunting.

TEXAS

L-train
06-17-2008, 05:14 PM
I use a hand held release for everything as well. I use a spike head 2 finger from Ideal. I had TP bad with a index finger release.
Pros- silent operation
no parts to fail
cons- not straped to wrist(although the one I shoot now does have a strap)
Not as quick of a shot(if done properly with back ten)though I can still punch one off quick when needed

ICH BIN
06-17-2008, 05:19 PM
I use a Winn free flight glove style. I like it beacuse it makes my wrist, hand, and release feel as one. Plus there is no tension in my fingers, they just hang. I am a puncher though. It is also makes it easy to pull the bow back having the whole release fixed to your hand.

E

dch3k