Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Competitions

Hello All,

I am new to archery and would like to ask one, perhaps pretentious question. I am 33 years old and would like to know if I am to “old” to think about professional competitions? I know that this depends on many factors (training, talent, psychic, etc.), but generally is age an issue?

Thank you for your help…

Regards,

Kid Moe

I just shot my first at 39 this year. Archery is a sport that doesn't see your age.

Comment

It is all about the time you put in and natural ability. Training will only get you so far, but far enough to be very competetive..
      2010 Elite Judge Ninja 27/70
      "Night Stalker"
      HHA XL 5010 Slider
      QAD Ultra LD Pro

Get Lucky!

Comment

Thank you for your prompt replies. There are only few archery clubs in Serbia (where I am from) and I had difficulties to find the right one. I was always very competitive in everything I did and I just wandered if there would be a possibility to compete on national or some other levels even if I start at the age of 33. Off course it is implied that a person needs to train a lot and to have certain abilities.

As I see from you replies, if want to compete on a professional level, age is the least of my worries.

Comment

If your starting out new, find a suitable instructor. Starting with the right form and a bow that is best suited for the competitions you will be in, and set up correctly! Most of all, have fun with it.

Comment

Arguably, the best archer in the world today in FITA competition is Roger Willet, Jr., who I believe is 52. He's rattled off three gold medals in a row, which is unprecedented in the FITA world.
            '10 XLR AT Snow

Comment