X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand held vs. Strap type release

Could anyone chime in on the pros and cons of hand held releases?I am tempted to try one but they don't seem to be used all that often for hunting. I haven't been around many target shooters to know what they use. Are they more accurate? I wondering about the back of the hand toward the face shooting style.
    Thanks
    GT500 Ninja
    E500 AT
    XLR Gloss Black

I was also wondering if the release type has any effect on your draw length.
    GT500 Ninja
    E500 AT
    XLR Gloss Black

Comment

I use a Chappy Boss as my primary release for target and hunting. I have been using it for the last 3 years and did notice better accuracy when I moved to it from my Winn Free Flight C-10. I use a Carter Quickie for my back-up when I hunt as it is small and I can throw it in my pocket and not know it is there. Between the two types of releases i personally shoot better with the Chappy Boss than I do with the strap styles.

My $.02
      Z28 28" 60lb
      CJ Supreme DN2
      QAD HD
      Sims Modular

Comment

I switched from a Scott Mongoose to a Carter Chocolate Addiction 3 years ago because of target panic and punching the trigger on the Scott. I have found that I shoot much better with the Carter that has a thumb barrel trigger mechanism. This is all I use for hunting.

TEXAS
        2011 PURE MAX 1
        2014 ENERGY 35 XTRA
        Elite Archery Pro Staff

Proud Member of the Texas Boys
        BH and HTC Nashville

Comment

I use a hand held release for everything as well. I use a spike head 2 finger from Ideal. I had TP bad with a index finger release.
          Pros- silent operation
          no parts to fail
          cons- not straped to wrist(although the one I shoot now does have a strap)
          Not as quick of a shot(if done properly with back ten)though I can still punch one off quick when needed